Share this

Edison State Employees Recognized at Banquet

February 28, 2019

Alice Gurklies

Edison State Community College Admissions/ Registration Processing Specialist Alice Gurklies was recognized for 30-years of employment during the 40th annual Employee Recognition Banquet. Alice is pictured with Edison State President Dr. Doreen Larson.

Twenty-seven employees were recognized for a combined total of 275 years of service in their careers at Edison State Community College’s 40th annual employee recognition banquet on Friday, February 22, 2019.  

Pathway Advisors, Stacey Bean and Christina Raterman emceed the event and presented the honorees with awards to highlight each of their unique talents, characteristics, and commitment to Edison State. Kara Myers, Coordinator of Employee Benefits and Compensation, hosted the event and Dr. Doreen Larson, President, presented honorees with gifts and personally thanked each of them for their commitment to Edison State.  

“Once again, the employee recognition team created an event that honored employee service and demonstrated our appreciation of each employee as an individual. From the individualized employee gifts, to the heartfelt Wall of Memories nominating remarks, the entire evening reflected the Edison State values of quality service and a commitment to a positive work environment,” said Edison State President Dr. Doreen Larson.  

The following employees were recognized for reaching significant milestones in their careers at Edison State:

Thirty Years: Alice Gurklies
Twenty-Five Years: Betty Blue and Rhonda Rich
Twenty Years: Cathy Barrow
Fifteen Years: Steve Rogge
Ten Years: Marva Archibald, Jill Bobb, Mary Bornhorst, Loleta Collins, Rachel Detraz, Sharon Farling, Maura Felts, Herbert Head, Leah Shreves, Julie Willenbrink
Five Years: Susan Barth, Beth Bengough, Lisa Grinstead, Erynn Hanford, Elisha Hicks, Vickie Kirk, Bruce McKenzie, Peggy Montgomery, Caryn Scott, Joshua Scully, John Shishoff, and Shawn Yan.  

During the banquet, it was announced that portraits of former faculty members Anna Hudelson and David Johnson would be added to Edison State’s Wall of Memories.  

Hudelson, who spent over 20-years as a professor in the Office Systems Administration department at Edison State, was selected for her unwavering devotion to students. Her high standards produced students with the skills and professionalism that enabled them to secure great employment opportunities. Hudelson gracefully maintained a wonderful rapport with her students, while at the same time, upholding the integrity of her program.  

Johnson, an English professor at Edison State for over 30-years, was selected for being a dedicated instructor and leader. He was one of Edison State’s first full time faculty members and has remained dedicated to the school even in retirement. Johnson made it a priority to hold himself and colleagues accountable to ensure students who took classes at Edison State received the best instruction possible.  

The Wall of Memories, established in 1998 by members of the Academic Forum, is dedicated to former Edison State employees who significantly impacted the lives of students, faculty, and staff who will forever be recognized as part of the college community.